Fundamental steps in beginner’s level astrology

Continuation of part II…

In part III and IV of the article, we will see the basic qualities of the planets also known as the Navgrahas. As we saw earlier, Sun, Moon, Rahu and Ketu are not actually planets but they are still referred to as planets by many. So, we will call them the same to avoid any confusion. In this article, we will also see which planets are friendly for each planet and which planets are inimical towards a planet. In reality, planets only give the result of our actions in this birth and previous births. No planet purposely harms us or favors us. It only makes us reap the consequences of our own actions (seeds), which we have sown in this and previous births. Sun is known to be our soul and moon represents our mind in our birth chart. All planets have 7th aspect from where they are located. Aspect (Drishti) means that the planet looks at a particular house 7th from itself and imparts its traits on that house and controls the planets or Nakshatras in that house. Jupiter, Saturn and Mars have special aspects other than the 7th. Jupiter also has 5th and 9th aspect other than the 7th. Saturn has 3rd and 10th aspect other than the 7th. Mars has 4th and 8th aspect other than the 7th. Rahu and Ketu are said to have 5, 7 and 9 aspects from their placement. A planet’s aspect is considered to be more powerful than its placement. If it aspects (looks at) its own house or sign that it rules, then it is considered very auspicious. Venus, Jupiter, Mercury and Moon are considered natural benefic planets and Mars, Saturn, Sun, Rahu and Ketu are considered natural malefic planets. In reality, no planet is malefic or comes with an agenda. Mars, Saturn, Sun, Rahu and Ketu give the results of our actions in a more direct and hard-hitting manner, which makes us shed our ego and understand the truth. The benefic planets (Venus, Jupiter, Mercury and Moon) teach us in a soft manner.
When a benefic planet (Venus, Jupiter, Mercury and Moon) aspects a malefic planet (Mars, Saturn, Sun, Rahu and Ketu), it reduces the negative effects of the malefic planets to a large extent.
Then, there are three important terminologies to know: Moolatrikona, which means that a planet is in full-in-charge. It’s like being in office. The planet works hard and feels a sense of responsibility. Exaltation sign is the happiest and relaxed and gives great results. Debilitation is the opposite of relaxed, a planet is put in a difficult environment. It gets irritated and does not give good results, unless it is in a friendly sign or is aspected by a benefic planet. There is another thing to remember in Vedic astrology – which planets are friends with each other and which are inimical towards each other. If friendly planets are conjunct or sitting together in a house (preferably a friendly house). All this information has been provided below.
You can check your own birth chart to know which planets are placed in their own signs, moolatrikona houses, inimical signs or with inimical planets, friendly signs or with friendly planets, which planets are exalted and debilitated. You can also check which planets are conjunct, whether they are friendly or inimical.

1. Sun
Those who have a good reputation, influence, name and fame in the society are blessed with a well-placed Sun in their birth chart. They are also spiritually inclined and have respect for their father. For government jobs one needs a strong Sun. It is the Sun that gives us good health. An afflicted Sun will not only lead to health problems but also problem with the father and society. It can also cause loss of reputation at the work place.
Suitable placement in houses – all houses except 6th, 8th and 12th from where it is considered challenging. 2, 5, 7, 9, 11 are considered auspicious. 1, 3, 10 are good as well.
Day – Sunday
Gemstone – Ruby
Aspects – 7th from itself.
Exalts in – Aries
Debilitates in – Libra
Considered a natural – malefic planet
Friends with – Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter
Not friends with – Saturn, Venus
Remedies for badly placed Sun in birth chart – Donate jaggery to poor people. Take any red flower and offer it to the sun each morning at sunrise after chanting Gayatri Mantra 108 times.
2. Moon
The Moon represents our mind, and thus a person’s thought-process and feelings come under Moon’s influence. A well-placed moon will make a person mentally stable with strong will power. It can also make a person psychic and increase his/her ability to attract people. Our mother and relationship with her is also seen by looking at the position of Moon in our birth chart. Our female friends, relatives and colleagues are also told by where Moon is placed for us. Psychologists, poets, jewelers, painters, musicians, actors, humanitarians and hoteliers have an influential moon in their birth chart.
Suitable placement in houses – all houses except 6th, 8th and 12th from where it is considered challenging. 2, 5, 7, 9, 11 are considered auspicious. 1, 3, 10 are good as well.
Day – Monday
Gemstone – Pearl
Aspects – 7th from itself.
Exalts in – Taurus
Debilitates in – Scorpio
Considered a natural – benefic planet
Friends with – All planets
Remedies for badly placed Moon in birth chart – Drink milk from a silver cup on every Poornima and Amavasya day. Pray to the moon every night by admiring it from your balcony or roof. Donate rice, white sugar and milk to the poor.
3. Jupiter
Jupiter is the most benefic planet. It is a teacher, benevolent and compassionate. Religious and spiritual progress in one’s life is supported by a positive placement of Jupiter. Those with a well-placed Jupiter are rich, famous, pious, dutiful, truthful, religious/spiritual and are mostly into teaching profession or priesthood.
Suitable placement in houses – all houses except 6th, 8th and 12th from where it is considered challenging. 2, 5, 7, 9, 11 are considered auspicious. 1, 3, 10 are good as well.
Day – Thursday
Gemstone – Yellow Sapphire
Aspects – 5th, 7th and 9th place from itself.
Exalts in – Cancer
Debilitates in – Capricorn
Considered a natural – benefic planet
Friends with – Sun, Moon, Saturn, Mars, Ketu
Not friends with – Mercury, Venus, Rahu
Remedies for badly placed Jupiter in birth chart – Help Brahmans and priests at any temple, donate money for Anna daan (donation of food) at temple and feed pilgrims and devotees. Donate turmeric, ghee, yellow lentils and yellow clothes to people who are religious and/or spiritual.
4. Saturn
Saturn is a powerful planet just like Jupiter. It indicates our lifespan and renunciation, that is, the ability to detach from the material world. It is the Karma-Karak (the facilitator of Karma/our duty or actions) so, it has everything to do with our career and employment. Its position in our chart shows what kind of work we will do for living and also the struggles that we will go through at both personal and professional front. Saturn rules laborers, elderly and poor people especially those who are physically or mentally challenged. Gas, oil, coal, iron, agriculture, second-hand items or old and abandoned items, fertilizers all come under Saturn’s control. If Saturn is well-placed in our chart, it can make us compassionate, devoted to God and powerful among masses.
Suitable placement in houses – 3, 6, and 11 is considered excellent. Other placements are challenging.
Day – Saturday
Gemstone – Blue Sapphire
Aspects – 5th, 7th and 9th place from itself.
Exalts in – Libra
Debilitates in – Aries
Considered a natural – malefic planet
Friends with – Mercury, Venus, Jupiter, Rahu, Ketu
Not friends with – Sun, Moon, Mars
Remedies for badly placed Saturn in birth chart – Feed boiled rice mixed with black sesame seeds and a little ghee to crows and stray dogs. Feed poor people and help the physically challenged and aged people. Help maid servants and labourers.