Fundamental steps in beginner’s level astrology

continuation of part I…
How to check the special conditions in your horoscope?

Check the 1, 4, 7, 10 houses in your horoscope. Remember, House 1 is where your ascendant is located. Start counting from there. These houses are called the Kendra houses.

Then, check the 1, 5, 9 houses of your horoscope. These are called the Trikona houses. Both Kendra and Trikona houses and which planets are located in them are very important.

Now, check the 6, 8, 12 houses of your horoscope. These are called the Dushthanas (malefic houses) as any planet placed in them are bound to give challenges in life.

Also see the 3, 6 and 11 houses of your horoscope. These are called the Upachchya houses, they are known to yield benefits over time. So, planets posited in these houses will give challenges initially but it will get better with time.

27 Nakshatras:

Nakshatras are lunar constellations. It is important to look at the Nakshatra in which each planet is placed in your horoscope (Janma Kundli), especially where your moon is placed. Nakshatras define the traits of the planets placed in them and bring out their qualities. Knowing Janma Nakshatra is very important. It is the Nakshatra in which the Moon was placed at the time of your birth. The Moon travels through one Nakshatra per day.

There are 27 Nakshatras. The first Nakshatra is Ashwini Nakshatra, placed in Aries and the last one is Revati Nakshatra in Pisces. The 27 Nakshatras and their ruling planet and basic characteristics are as follows:

  1. Ashwini – ruled by Ketu
  2. The natives born in this Nakshatra are good-looking, well-respected, intelligent, and highly skilled in their work. They are fast and efficient in doing things.

  3. Bharani – ruled by Venus
  4. These natives are successful in career, they are truthful, healthy and cheerful. They are prone to deep inner transformations.

  5. Krittika – ruled by Sun
  6. These natives are courageous, possess good leadership skills, they are sharp, they love to defend or protect their loved ones, they are also risk-taking.

  7. Rohini – ruled by Moon
  8. These natives are very beautiful; they can easily accumulate wealth; they can also charm people with their charisma. Many artists and movie stars are seen from this Nakshatra.

  9. Mrigashira – ruled by Mars
  10. These natives are friendly, communicative, they are short-tempered, they are also very creative, have good writing skills, they love material comforts and success.

  11. Arudra – ruled by Rahu
  12. These natives are soft-spoken, mentally strong, they sacrifice a lot to get material success, and they are prone to health and temper issues.

  13. Punarvasu – ruled by Jupiter
  14. These natives are highly intellectual and they possess innate spiritual wisdom, they are prosperous, friendly and have a high level of patience.

  15. Pushya – ruled by Saturn
  16. These natives are cheerful, well-respected, calm and composed, and endowed with good looks.

  17. Ashlesha – ruled by Mercury
  18. The natives of this Nakshatra are fierce, courageous and prone to anger and frustration. They travel a lot and undertake challenging jobs.

  19. Magha – ruled by Ketu
  20. The natives have the ability to become very powerful figures in society, they are religious by nature and perform rituals to please Gods and ancestors, they undertake work that benefits the society.

  21. Purvaphalguni – ruled by Venus
  22. These natives are attractive, joyful, generous, well-behaved, and good in forming and maintaining relationships.

  23. Uttaraphalguni – ruled by Sun
  24. These natives are autonomous, friendly, possess mental clarity, they are successful and they love to indulge in a luxurious lifestyle.

  25. Hasta – ruled by Moon
  26. The thoughts, words and actions of these natives are generally pure. They have good self-control. They are very resourceful and love to keep themselves engaged in meaningful actions.

  27. Chitra – ruled by Mars
  28. These natives maintain good health and maintain their looks and so, they tend to look much younger than their actual age. They have great stamina and endurance skills. They easily adapt themselves to harsh environments and conditions.

  29. Swati – ruled by Rahu
  30. These natives are successful, soft-spoken and charitable. They can control their passions, they can run a successful business.

  31. Vishaka – ruled by Jupiter
  32. These natives are full of energy, strength, power, management skills and are good in making money. They have the ability to advance spiritually very rapidly.

  33. Anuradha – ruled by Saturn
  34. These natives have a beautiful face and bright eyes. They are timid and tender hearted. They generally have a melancholic love life.

  35. Jyestha – ruled by Mercury
  36. These natives have excellent analytical abilities, they tend to have very few friends because of their sincere and virtuous nature.

  37. Moola – ruled by Ketu
  38. These natives are highly philosophical, are curious and enjoy talking about any subject. They can be pessimistic at times, recluse and prefer isolation.

  39. Purvashada – ruled by Venus
  40. These natives are proud, strongly attached to their family and friends, they are generally compatible with their life partner.

  41. Uttarashada – ruled by Sun
  42. These natives are always seeking spiritual wisdom; gets deeply involved in spiritual work; they obey elders, they are virtuous and pious.

  43. Shravana – ruled by Moon
  44. These natives are wealthy, learned, broad-minded and have the tendency to become famous. They love to listen to old music and prefer buying second-hand items.

  45. Dhanistha – ruled by Mars
  46. The natives born in this Nakshatra accumulate a lot of wealth in their lifetime, they are courageous, well-respected in society due to their financial status. They love classical music.

  47. Shatabhisha – ruled by Rahu
  48. These natives are independent, direct, truthful, imaginative but they engage in some unnecessary work that leads them to trouble.

  49. Purvabhadrapada – ruled by Jupiter
  50. These natives are intelligent; they know how to convince people and make money.

  51. Uttarabhadrapada – ruled by Saturn
  52. These natives are cheerful, excellent orators and leaders of masses, they are fond of children, they are highly disciplined since young age and are chaste.

  53. Revati – ruled by Mercury
  54. These natives possess a beautiful body and face, they have good manners, they possess deep knowledge both worldly and spiritual, they are wealthy but they are not greedy. They are very helpful and are good at guiding others.

How to check your Nakshatra

You can check in which Nakshatra each of your planet is deposited, especially where your moon is deposited. The planets (apart from their natural tendency) will behave in a certain way based on the Nakshatra where they are placed. This can be analysed based on the description of the Nakshatras covered above in this article.

Contributed by spiritual guide/astrologer Yogamaya 9